The work is going really well!

Good news!  I’m staying in Lake Jackson…. and Elder Esplin is staying with me!  I’ve never had a companion stay with me this long before… but Elder Esplin and I are tearing it up, so  we are excited to see what the next transfer brings.
This week has actually been a fantastic week!  We had a baptism for C. this week and it was fantastic!    His baptismal date was Saturday, August 21st, 2010.  The man who baptized him is Nathan Whipple (the son of President Whipple,the stake president).  Nathan is like our best friend here, he and his wife take care of us and are amazing missionaries! He’s the Elders Quorum president and his wife is the stake Relief Society president… and they are like 33 and 29!  They are an amazing family!   I’ll miss them a lot when I leave.  They provide me with Pepsi on days that I’m not feeling well…. haha so you don’t have to worry I’m still getting my supply of medicine!!!  Along with the baptism, we had great things happen. We were able to find another person to accept a baptismal date, her name is P.  She is a member referral from a youth member in the ward.  The youth member wrote his testimony in a book of mormon and gave it to her and she has been really interested.  Her date is for September 18th.  I’m really excited to see what happens with her, it will be great.
The ward will be really excited that both Elder Esplin and I are staying together.  They were sad when they heard transfers were coming up.  We know that there is still something else that we have to do while we are together, so we’re going to do that.
Update on brother H.  His daughter, K, spoke in sacrament yesterday and for a girl who is not emotional at all, was in tears when she said that she can’t wait for her brothers and dad to follow her example and be baptized so that they can be sealed as a family….. she said it in front of the whole congregation!!! It was fantastic!!! My mouth as well as the stake president’s and Bishop’s were wide open, but we’re glad that she said it.  He is done with his training now and we have an appointment with him later this week with the Bishop.  We are going to challenge him to set a date right then and there and get him baptized…. we’re hoping that he felt something while he was sitting there.  Everyone else did… it was probably the best sacrament meeting i’ve seen on my mission.  Plus on top of that our investigator K (who has been meeting with missionaries off and on for the past 5 years but has been dropped several times for not progressing) has now come to church 2 times in a row and comes to our book of mormon study every week.  He’s actually progressing and keeping commitments which he never even came to church before in the past 5 years!!! He’s doing great!  It’s a slow process with him, but at this rate, he’ll be baptized soon as well!  The work is going really well!
The other elders in my district are getting split up  however, the one who causes the issues is staying…. but Heavenly Father and President Saylin must know that I’m the only one who can tame him a little bit so I guess that’s why I get the privilege of him staying in my district… it’ll be good, but pray for me!
Well that’s about it for now, I love you so much!  Tell everyone I love them!  Love Blake
One Response to “The work is going really well!”

  1. Nichole (Blake's sister) Says:

    Pictures will be posted soon, mom accidentally deleted them from the email

Leave a Reply

